The Mesa para la Conservación del Sur del Valle de Aburrá is a cooperation instrument based on an inter-institutional articulation effort to implement ecosystem and biodiversity conservation strategies, based on the principle that biodiversity has no political or administrative limits. It is made up of five municipalities (Envigado, Itagüí, La Estrella, Caldas and Sabaneta), through the Municipal Environment and Planning Secretariats, National Natural Parks, the Metropolitan Area of the Aburrá Area, and the Alexander von Humboldt Institute, among other institutions. Its objectives include the collection of information, analysis and development of regional products; exchange of experiences and strengthening of institutional capacities in the implementation of conservation strategies (joint wildlife monitoring); formulation of conservation projects and management of resources for funding by other institutions. This instrument began in 2019 and is currently active and in the development of implementation actions.